Recipe: Choco-mint balls

This uncreatively-titled recipe was something I came across when I was digging through my Mom’s old recipe box (the one full of weird 60’s recipes that she made as a teenager), working on compiling family recipes for my bookbinding project. I didn’t include it in the book because I’d never made them before, but was intrigued by the combination of ingredients (evaporated milk and marshmallow creme?) and flavors (chocolate and mint: usually a winner). I figured that the beginning of classes and an epic blizzard were a good excuse to try my hand at candy-making.

20160123_170708.jpg

Only one minor disaster (the pan pictured above was too small for the mixture once it started boiling, resulting in a burned-s’mores-smelling mess on the burner and a bit of extra cleanup for me) and a lot of stirring and ball-rolling later, I can now say I’ve made candy for the first time in my life!

20160123_172914
The mixture, post-boil-and-stir. (Unfortunately, I did not take advantage of the rare situation of having a tiny bit of extra marshmallow to make a fluffernutter.)

The results: Contrary to what I was expecting, these aren’t exactly what I’d call truffles. The use of marshmallow instead of, say, cream, means that they’re much lighter in texture, and they’re more sweet than rich. The original recipe calls for rolling them in nuts; I thought crushed mint hard candies would be more fun, but underestimated the difficulty I would have crushing them, so most of the balls ended up simply rolled in cocoa powder. I actually like those ones better, since the cocoa powder’s bitterness offsets the sweetness a bit. Overall, this is a fun, relatively easy recipe that could be adapted for any flavor you like. I could see orange and raspberry being good combinations as well.

Choco-Mint Balls

Adapted from one of my mom’s old recipes.

Makes about 150 inch-diameter balls (original recipe says 80 balls, so I guess they were supposed to be bigger).

5 c (12 oz can) evaporated milk
4 c sugar
Dash of salt
12 oz chocolate chips
1 jar (7.5 oz) marshmallow crème
½ t peppermint extract
finely chopped nuts (or crushed mint candies, cocoa powder, sprinkles…)

Place milk, sugar, salt in large saucepan. Cook and stir over low heat until sugar is dissolved. Bring to a rolling boil and cook 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and add chocolate chips, flavoring, and marshmallow crème. Beat until smooth. Cool. Roll into balls, then in nuts (or cocoa powder, crushed candies, sprinkles, whatever you’re using).

20160123_220500
Hope you like chocolate-mint truffles!
Leave a Reply

