Back from a break

As I gear up for classes at Harvard starting on Wednesday, I felt that I should give a little bit of an update of what I’ve been doing since I left Cambridge (UK)…mostly in pictures, because I’m lazy. Here goes!

Lovely alpine meadows on the Pioneer Day hike I went on with the parents and Tillie (the dog).
Lovely alpine meadows on the Pioneer Day hike I went on with the parents and Tillie (the dog).
Mom and Dad ascend Gobbler's Knob.
Mom and Dad ascend Gobbler’s Knob.
View west-ish from Gobbler's Knob.
View west-ish from Gobbler’s Knob.
View south from Gobbler's Knob.
View south from Gobbler’s Knob.
Delicious vegetables and turkey bacon quiche for "Pie and Beer Day"
Delicious vegetable and turkey bacon quiche (with hash brown crust) for “Pie and Beer Day!”
What a nice place I come from!
What a nice place I come from!
Salt Lake Valley from the Shoreline Trail on one of my runs.
Salt Lake Valley from the Shoreline Trail on one of my runs.
For our birthday, Zach came back to SLC and we all went backpacking the Uintas to Dead Horse Lake. Here's Zach chilling at breakfast time.
For our birthday, Zach came back to SLC and we all went backpacking the Uintas to Dead Horse Lake. Here’s Zach chilling at breakfast time.
Planning the day's activities at the campsite.
Planning the day’s activities at the campsite.
View from the trail up to Dead Horse Pass.
View from the trail up to Dead Horse Pass.
Zach hurt his knee in a bike crash a few weeks previously, hence the hiking poles.
Zach hurt his knee in a bike crash a few weeks previously, hence the hiking poles.
Dead Horse Lake from the pass of the same name. You can't quite see our campsite.
Dead Horse Lake from the pass of the same name. You can’t quite see our campsite.
Tillie's on the lookout for interesting animals to chase.
Tillie’s on the lookout for interesting animals to chase.
Looking over Dead Horse Pass.
Looking over Dead Horse Pass.
Todd and Anabelle admire the view from the top of Dead Horse Pass.
Todd and Anabelle admire the view from the top of Dead Horse Pass.
I can't remember the name of this lake, but it's on the other side of Dead Horse Pass...
I can’t remember the name of this lake, but it’s on the other side of Dead Horse Pass…
Little, nameless alpine pond.
Little, nameless alpine pond.
The peloton of the Tour of Utah rushes past the park near our house!
The peloton of the Tour of Utah rushes past the park near our house!
On the last day before Zach left, we went bouldering in Millcreek Canyon (my first time!). Todd's excellent shirt was a birthday present from Anabelle.
On the last day before Zach left, we went bouldering in Millcreek Canyon (my first time!). Todd’s excellent shirt was a birthday present from Anabelle.
Anabelle rocks a boulder.
Anabelle rocks a boulder.
Zach and Todd bouldering.
Zach and Todd bouldering.
Anabelle and Todd take a quick break as we tear up the Shoreline Trail.
Anabelle and Todd take a quick break as we tear up the Shoreline Trail. This is right before they headed off to Seattle (where Todd is starting the PhD program in Earth and Space Sciences) and a few days before I went off to Boston with my parents for the American Chemical Society meeting, and thence to Harvard!
View of the Old North Church, the start of Paul Revere's ride.
View of the Old North Church, the start of Paul Revere’s ride.
The impressive Boston Athenaeum, gleaming in the morning sun as I ran past it.
The impressive Boston Athenaeum, gleaming in the morning sun as I ran past it.
Boston Tea Party museum: a little out of my price range (and it seemed geared more toward kids than adults), but looks like a fun time.
Boston Tea Party museum: a little out of my price range (and it seemed geared more toward kids than adults), but looks like a fun time.
Brattle Book Shop, aka "a source of massive temptation." I managed to restrain myself and only bought one thing: a $1 used copy of "Devil in the White City," which I'm still working through.
Brattle Book Shop, aka “a source of massive temptation.” I managed to restrain myself and only bought one thing: a $1 used copy of “Devil in the White City,” which I’m still working through.
Largest physics G1 (first-year grad student) cohort ever!
Largest physics G1 (first-year grad student) cohort ever!
G1's pile into the Sanders Theatre for several hours of orientation talks.
G1’s pile into the Sanders Theatre for several hours of orientation talks.
Hahvahd Yahd on a hot, sunny day!
Hahvahd Yahd on a hot, sunny day!
Running along the Charles this morning.
Running along the Charles this morning. Not too shabby (though already really hot).

 

Leave a Reply

