Recipe: Rhubarb-orange jam

Lots o' rhubarb! (I used about 2/3 of this bunch for the jam; the rest got chopped and frozen.)
Lots o’ rhubarb! (I used about 2/3 of this bunch for the jam; the rest got chopped and frozen.)

I came home to Salt Lake City to find Dad’s farming bounty just starting to get going. We don’t have any squash yet, and there are only a few ripe tomatoes per day (the ones I’ve had so far were awesome), but the lettuce and arugula are doing quite well. The crop that was seemed to be flourishing the most was the rhubarb.

This is what two and a half pounds of rhubarb looks like. Not pictured: over half an hour of chopping. (I'm slow.)
This is what two and a half pounds of rhubarb looks like. Not pictured: over half an hour of chopping. (I’m slow.)

Rhubarb and mushrooms are divisive foods chez ma famille; my dad hates both, and my mom loves both. I’ve grown to love mushrooms over the last few years, but I’m not really sold on rhubarb. It’s okay, but not something I’d ever seek out.

Ingredients ready to go!
Ingredients ready to go!

Why a rhubarb recipe on my blog, then? I wanted an excuse to cut it back so some of the other plants would get more light, and I know Mom usually doesn’t have time to do anything with the rhubarb (she’s traveling at the moment). I thought I’d help her out. I also wanted to try canning something by myself for the first time, just as a learning experience.

Your initial rolling boil should look something like this.
Your initial rolling boil should look something like this.
Final jam.
Final jam.

I wouldn’t go out and buy rhubarb just to make this again, but it’s pretty tasty! The end result is like a tart orange jam, but weirdly green. I wanted to increase the orange flavor by adding Cointreau, but I couldn’t find it; I’d definitely recommend trying that, and using more orange zest rather than less. All in all, it’s a great way to use rhubarb that is maybe a little more unique than pie.

On toast with a bit of Greek yogurt. Yummy!
On toast with a bit of Greek yogurt. Yummy!

Rhubarb-Orange Jam

Yield: ~ 2 pints.

Adapted from: AllRecipes.com.

2.5 lbs rhubarb, chopped
2 c sugar
Zest of 1-3 oranges
1 c fresh orange juice (I used 3 oranges)
2 Tbsp Cointreau (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan or Dutch oven. Bring to a full, rolling boil, then cook over low to medium-low heat for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until thick.

Ladle into hot, sterile jars and seal with lids and rings. Store opened jars in the fridge.

Serving suggestion: on buttered or nut-buttered toast or spooned over Greek yogurt or vanilla ice cream.

Leave a Reply

