Recipe: Whole spelt chocolate chip cookies, take two

Choppin' some chocolate.
Choppin’ some chocolate.

I wiggled out of giving a group seminar this week…last week’s speaker said he wanted to go this week, and I didn’t have time to prepare a seminar last week because I was writing my thesis! However, I couldn’t let this week’s seminar happen without the traditional cake-from-last-week’s-speaker, so I decided I would definitely bring a treat. Unfortunately, our only casserole dish/cake pan broke a few weeks ago, so I was left with the choice between cupcakes and cookies. Cookies are way easier to transport, so they won!

Just the brown sugar and butter; I used half the amount in the original recipe, so it's a bit thick.
Just the brown sugar and butter; I used half the amount in the original recipe, so it’s a bit thick.
After adding the yogurt, you get the nice, syrupy consistency.
After adding the yogurt, you get a nice, syrupy consistency.

Besides, I was disappointed with how my last chocolate chip cookies turned out. The recipe I decided to try this time bills itself as “simply perfect,” and it’s written for white spelt flour, not whole wheat. It has a lower butter-to-flour ratio than my last attempt; since I thought they were too greasy, this seemed like a good sign. I added the extra step of chilling the dough, because it generally results in better flavor. Also, whole spelt flour likes extra time to soak up moisture, and using melted butter rather than the more usual room-temperature butter creamed together with the sugar means that the initial dough is a bit soft.

Dough ready to chill!
Dough ready to chill!

Results: these were on the other side of the spectrum from my previous spelt chocolate chip cookies. Instead of being extremely buttery and spreading a lot, they were more puffy and cake-like, probably due to the higher flour-to-butter ratio and the extra 1/4 cup of flour I added to the original recipe at the last minute (I was worried about the batter being too goopy). Next time, I’d try making these without the extra flour, in order to tip the scales slightly back in the other direction. Overall, though, the flavor is good, if a bit “wholegrain-y”, and I appreciate that they’re a bit less messy that the last ones. They were devoured in short order after the seminar, so I guess the popular opinion is positive!

Done!
Done!

Whole Spelt Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yield: 3 dozen small (1.5 inch diameter) cookies.

Adapted from: Nature’s Legacy for Life.

2.25 c (sifted) spelt flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt or 1/4 tsp table/sea salt
4 Tbsp (1/2 stick/57 g) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2.5 Tbsp plain yogurt
3/4 c light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
~1.5 c chocolate chips (I chopped up 200 g dark chocolate)

In a medium bowl, whisk together spelt flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

Stir together the melted butter and brown sugar until they form a caramel-colored syrup/sludge, then add the yogurt and mix until smooth and syrupy. Beat in the vanilla, egg and yolk until combined (about 30 seconds). Scrape down bowl and beater/spoon as needed.

Slow add the the dry ingredients and stir until just smooth. Mix in the chocolate chips. Cover and chill at least 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 325 F/165 C, with racks in the upper and lower thirds. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Portion out 12 cookie dough balls onto each baking sheet, spacing them 2 inches apart.

Bake until the edges are golden but the centers are still soft and puffy (about 10-12 minutes). Rotate and swap the baking sheets halfway through baking.

Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 10 minutes, then serve warm or transfer parchment paper and cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

One thought on “Recipe: Whole spelt chocolate chip cookies, take two

Leave a Reply

