Passing time, fast and slow

Kathryn, Michelle, Amanda, and Sara listen to the plan for Monday's outing.
Kathryn, Michelle, Amanda, and Sara listen to the plan for Monday’s outing.

Gah! Where did the weekend go?! I barely got anything done!

More attentive listening from Jess (who's obviously psyched), Gillian, Beth, and Kathryn again.
More attentive listening from Jess (who’s obviously psyched), Gillian, Beth, and Kathryn again.

Okay, I’m writing this at 9:30 AM, so I’ve actually got plenty of thesis-work time ahead of me for today. I didn’t get much writing done yesterday, instead focusing on all that normal-person life stuff that I’d been neglecting for way, way too long, like laundry and cleaning my room. Hopefully I will work better today in an environment that doesn’t smell funny and knowing that I have more than one pair of clean underwear in my wardrobe.

Coach Giorgio gives us the lowdown.
Coach Giorgio gives us the lowdown.

I’ve just been reflecting on how little time I have left in Cambridge, after setting a hand-in date for my thesis on Friday (29 June), with a plan to do my viva (oral defense) about 2 weeks later. That’s definitely enough time to get it done, but actually setting the date made me realize I have less than two months left here! There are only two weeks left of Easter term (and therefore organized rowing). The getting-on race, which determines whether or not we will be racing in May Bumps, is this Friday. I don’t know what our chances are of “getting on” (Giorgio is not optimistic, but he never is), but W2 has been training really hard in the last few weeks. All we can do is give it our best shot!

Lovely day to go to the pub!
Lovely day to go to the pub! (Great St. Mary’s Church.)

On a different note, my big social event of the week was going out to dinner on Thursday with some of my group and Prof. Ted. Monchesky, a professor at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, who has been visiting for the last few weeks. I missed most of the pre-dinner drinking at the famous Eagle pub, but still made it inside, so that’s one thing to check off the Cambridge bucket list.

I finally made it to The Eagle!
I finally made it to The Eagle!

Dinner at the Cambridge Brew House was nice, with some great conversation about physics teaching, British food, and the merits of carrying around a pen. I left the foosball game a bit early because I was tired from making up that evening’s erg session at 6:30 that morning, but still had a great time.

Stefan channels his inner Professor X while visiting Prof. Ted Monchesky basks in the glow of post-dinner foosball at the Cambridge Brew House.
Visitor Prof. Ted Monchesky basks in the glow of post-dinner foosball at the Cambridge Brew House while Stefan tries to influence the game by channeling his inner Professor X.
SAMSUNG
Intense intra-lab competition!
SAMSUNG
Ted referees, Vahe chills out, and Chiara and Nick prepare to take on…two people who clearly aren’t ready to play.

Well, that’s enough thesis procrastination for now. Time to re-fill my tea and get to work!

(Edit: This is my 300th post on this blog! Now I feel just a bit more accomplished. 🙂 Here’s to many more!)

Leave a Reply

