Nearing the crunch…

I’m starting to feel a wee bit stressed at the prospect of finishing a draft of my thesis by the time my parents visit in mid-June. So far this weekend, my response to this stress has been baking muffins, going to the last MCR formal of the term, and procrastinating by writing this post. Okay, I’ve also actually gotten some work done.

Come and get 'em!
Procrastination by baking.

In anticipation of the formal, I caved in to societal norms and shaved my legs for the first time in about 6 months, and boy, was that a project. There were definite upsides to not shaving my legs (no cuts, healthier skin, don’t have to buy razors, less time in shower), but I prefer them a bit more bare when shorts season comes around. Is that too much information? It’s just hair.

Pre-formal documentation of the winter leg beard experiment.
Pre-formal documentation of the winter leg beard experiment.

Rowing has been going reasonably well. After our somewhat disappointing performance in the last race, (Cap’n) Natalie has really been pushing us to focus, and we had a very good outing yesterday in which we just focused on putting down a lot of power. I don’t know what our chances are of getting on for May Bumps, but I guess we’ll find out in 12 days!

Unrelated photo: shrimp candy, courtesy of labmate Zhou! (It's actually like a Butterfinger coated in candy and wrapped in very thin rice paper instead of being dipped in chocolate).
Unrelated photo: shrimp candy, courtesy of labmate Zhou! (It’s actually like a Butterfinger coated in candy and wrapped in very thin rice paper instead of being dipped in chocolate).

Anyway, nose needs to go back on the grindstone now.

Leave a Reply

