Recipe: Crisp black bean salad

Super easy prep for this recipe: just chop, squeeze, and stir!
Super easy prep for this recipe: just chop, squeeze, and stir!

Based on the number of recipes I’ve posted on this blog, you might get the impression that I eat a really exciting variety of foods from day to day. In reality, I find it cheaper and easier to cook a big batch of something, freeze one or two portions for later, and eat the rest for dinner throughout the week. For lunch…same deal. My go-to is a kale salad with tomatoes, peppers and/or cucumbers, maybe some beans, maybe some tuna, a variety of herbs and spices, dressed with either lemon juice or a mixture of apple cider vinegar, wholegrain mustard, and honey, plus some fruit and the occasional tin of mackerel.

Lately, though, the tomatoes have been worse than usual (with a distinct tendency to go moldy halfway through the week, leaving me bereft), and I’ve gotten sick of the usual routine. Since The Kitchn was posting a lot about salads last week, I thought I’d give the tomatoes a break for a week and mix it up by topping my kale with this black bean and corn salad. I swapped the last of my bottle of cider vinegar for the red wine vinegar in the original recipe and added some crushed chile flakes for heat, as well as scaling the ingredients a bit differently (400 g, or 14 oz cans are the norm here, not 15 oz cans), but this is more or less as written.

Makes my mouth and belly happy.
Makes my mouth and belly happy.

My verdict: it’s delicious! I love the crispy, crunchy textures in the cucumber and corn, as well as the freshness of the lime and cilantro. Plus, it’s pretty high in protein and fiber from those beans. It was great fuel for a rowing race!

Crisp Black Bean Salad

Yield: 4-6 servings

Adapted from The Kitchn.

2 (14-ounce) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (10-ounce) can whole-kernel corn (or about 1.25 c fresh corn kernels)
1/2 medium cucumber, finely chopped
1 c chopped cilantro
1/2 c chopped celery or green onions
1 to 2 cups (I chopped up a 180 g block) crumbled or chopped feta
2 to 3 limes, juiced (I used 2)
1/4-1/3 c apple cider vinegar (I used 1/4 c)
Sea salt, cracked black pepper, crushed chiles, and cumin to taste

Combine the black beans, corn, cucumber, cilantro, celery/green onions, and feta in a large bowl and toss until mixed evenly. Add lime juice and vinegar, stir, and taste. You may want to add more lime or cider vinegar. Add a dash of salt, pepper, crushed chiles, and cumin, and adjust to taste.

Chill for at least one hour before serving to allow flavors to blend.

Serving suggestion: Cold over kale (drizzled with lime juice and massaged to break it down a bit) or toasted corn tortillas/tortilla chips like a salsa!

Leave a Reply

