Recipe: Roasted mushrooms and broccolini(sh) soba

The obligatory chopping/mise en place photo.
The obligatory chopping/mise en place photo.
I roasted my eggplant and mushrooms separately, but I bet you could do them together as well.
I roasted my eggplant and mushrooms separately, but I bet you could do them together as well.

I mentioned my love of buckwheat when I tried making cookies with it last summer, and that definitely extends to soba! A couple of packages have been sitting in my pantry for months, waiting for warm weather so I could eat it properly (as in, cold). However, when I saw this recipe featured as a link on The Kitchn, the idea of roasting the mushrooms really intrigued me, so I knew I had to try it.

Pretty peppers.
Pretty peppers.
I don't think I've ever seen purple sprouting broccoli in a grocery store in the States. That's a shame, because it's awesome.
I don’t think I’ve ever seen purple sprouting broccoli in a grocery store in the States. That’s a shame, because it’s awesome.

The modifications (because I am incapable of just following a recipe): I changed up the sauces a little bit because I didn’t feel like buying rice wine vinegar, so I swapped in lemon juice. An eggplant gets roasted along with the mushrooms, because roasted eggplant was so tasty in my tikka masala. Purple sprouting broccoli was on sale, so I used that instead of broccolini. I had some leftover peppers and a leek in my fridge from last week, so I threw those in as well. Finally, I eat kale salad pretty much every weekday for lunch, so I decided to switch out the kale for some local Swiss chard from the market!

Done roasting and pretty darn tasty.
Done roasting and pretty darn good.
Chard added and cooked down so it all fits in the skillet (barely).
Chard added and cooked down so it all fits in the skillet (barely).

The results: yum! I love how the nutty buckwheat in the soba pairs with the salty-sweet sauce, and there’s a great texture contrast between the chewy mushrooms, soft noodles, and slightly crunchy chard and broccoli stems. It’s a bit more complicated than my usual one-pot dinners, but totally worth the wait.

Heating up tonight's portion with some pieces of pork.
Heating up tonight’s portion with some pieces of pork.
Colorful and tasty!
Colorful and tasty!

Roasted Teriyaki Mushrooms and Eggplant with Broccolini Soba

Yield: 4-6 servings.

Adapted from Sobremesa.

For roasting:
~24 oz mushrooms (I got a 750 g package)
1 eggplant
1 Tbsp high heat oil
2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar or lemon juice
1 Tbsp honey
2 Tbsp tamari
2 tsp grated ginger

On the stovetop:
1 package (250 g, 100% buckwheat) soba noodles
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 leek (150 g), cut lengthwise, then thinly sliced
2-3 (300 g) bell peppers, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 chile peppers, thinly sliced
2 bunches (400 g) broccolini or purple sprouting broccoli
1 bunch (500 g) chard or kale, chopped

Sauce:
1/4 c tamari
Juice of 1-2 lemons
1 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
1 Tbsp honey
2 tsp Sriracha
1-2 tsp grated ginger

Suggested toppings: sesame seeds, green onions, hot sauce, more chile peppers (thinly sliced)

Preheat oven to 425 F/220 C and line a baking sheet (or two if, like me, you only have small sheet pans) with parchment paper. Pop stems off the mushrooms, wipe off dirt with a paper towel, cut each mushroom in half (or quarters or sixths if large), and place them in a large bowl. Wash and dry eggplant, cut into 3/4-inch cubes, and add to a nother bowl bowl. Whisk together the glaze ingredients. Pour the glaze over the mushrooms and eggplant and mix until evenly coated. Pour the vegetables onto the parchment lined baking sheet(s) and place them in the preheated oven for 15 minutes. Remove and toss so they cook evenly. Roast for another 15-20 minutes, or until eggplant is tender.

Meanwhile, cook soba noodles to package directions and heat a large skillet with 1 Tbsp olive oil over medium heat. Wash broccolini, cut off ends, and cut in half lengthwise if stems are thick. Slice into 2-3-inch segments. Add leek and peppers to skillet and cook until softened, 4-5 minutes, then add garlic and chiles and cook until fragrant, 1-2 minutes more. Add broccolini, cook 3-4 minutes, then add chard and cook until just tender, about 5 minutes.

While vegetables and noodles are cooking, whisk together the soba sauce ingredients in a bowl.

If you’re making this ahead of time (e.g. to eat all week): store the soba noodles, roast vegetables, sauteed vegetables, and sauce separately, if possible. If nothing else, store the vegetables and sauce together, separate from the noodles; this will prevent them from getting soggy and breaking down.

When you want to eat: Add cooked noodles to the pan of vegetables, add the sauce, and stir until all the vegetables and noodles are evenly coated in sauce (and everything is warmed through, if you’re doing this as reheated leftovers).

Place a portion of noodles and vegetables into bowls and top them with the roasted mushrooms and eggplant (for re-heating, I just put the mushrooms and eggplant in with everything else). Garnish with sesame seeds, hot peppers, and/or green onions, if desired.

Serving suggestion: Sriracha is great with this! (What a surprise…) For more protein, add some chopped chicken or lean pork (preferably cooked with a bit of tamari, ginger and pepper), or top with an egg or two cooked to your preference. I stir-fried chunks of pork loin that I had bought for my Cuban oats, and I’m planning to do some scrambled eggs with it later in the week.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Roasted mushrooms and broccolini(sh) soba

Leave a Reply

