Rendezvous à Paris (day 1)

Guess where I am!
Guess where I am!

The stars aligned with my workload, my presence in the UK (it’s much easier to get to Europe from this Cambridge than the next one I’ll be living in), and my Mom’s conference/travel schedule, so we met up last weekend for a mini vacation in Paris! This will be a series of posts of mostly pictures in the interest of saving my poor hands/wrists, which are being a bit overworked with thesis writing and rowing.

While I was near the Gare du Nord (where my Eurostar train came in), I did a bit of walking around and found the cute covered market of St Quentin.
While I was near the Gare du Nord (where my Eurostar train came in), I did a bit of walking around and found the cute covered market of St Quentin.
It was May 1st, aka May Day/Labor Day, so nearly everything was closed. On the upside, the hotel was fancy enough that they gave us fancy chocolates for the occasion. (Later in the day, they brought a bottle of champagne, on the house. We were pretty surprised.)
It was May 1st, aka May Day/Labor Day, so nearly everything was closed. On the upside, the hotel was fancy and gave us chocolates for the occasion. (Later in the day, they brought a bottle of champagne on the house. We were pretty surprised.)
Not many places advertise "hygienic" chocolates...
Not many places advertise “hygienic” chocolates…
Mom's flight didn't get into Paris until the late afternoon, so I spent some time wandering around the Left Bank. Here's St. Sulpice!
Mom’s flight didn’t get into Paris until the late afternoon, so I spent some time wandering around the Left Bank. Here’s St. Sulpice! (You may remember it from The Da Vinci Code… or maybe not, if you don’t read such things.)
Awesome dog at St. Sulpice is awesome.
Awesome dog at St. Sulpice is awesome.
One of the famous Delacroix paintings inside the church.
One of the famous Delacroix paintings inside the church.
Another Delacroix.
Another Delacroix.
Seriously impressive Virgin and Child sculpture at the back of the nave.
Seriously impressive Virgin and Child sculpture at the back of the nave.
The famous gnomon of St Sulpice.
The famous gnomon of St Sulpice.
Yeah, it's a pretty nice church.
Yeah, it’s a pretty nice church.
Next stop: the Jardin du Luxembourg. It was a bit of a gloomy day, but there were still lots of people out and about (just not in this photo).
Next stop: the Jardin du Luxembourg. It was a bit of a gloomy day, but there were still lots of people out and about (just not in this photo).
Old dudes playing bocce!
Old dudes playing bocce!
Next, I visited the Montparnasse cemetery, one of a few Paris cemeteries full of famous people. Here's the grave of Simone de Beauvoir and Jean-Paul Sartre.
Next, I visited the Montparnasse cemetery, one of a few Paris cemeteries full of famous people. Here’s the grave of Simone de Beauvoir and Jean-Paul Sartre.
The Poincare family monument, including the famous mathematician Henri.
The Poincare family monument, including the famous mathematician Henri.
I love the iconic Paris Metro signs.
I love the iconic Paris Metro signs.
I also love the antiquarians/bookshops that have totally awesome old books and scientific equipment.
I also love the antiquarians/bookshops that have totally awesome old books and scientific equipment. Check out that astrolabe!
Some of the many bouquinistes (green painted stalls selling books, postcards, and tourist trinkets) along the Seine.
Some of the many bouquinistes (green painted stalls selling books, postcards, and tourist trinkets) along the Seine.
Finally met up with my awesome mom!
Finally met up with my awesome mom!
Also awesome: the Breton-stype creperie where we had dinner (buckwheat crepes are  delicious)!
Also awesome: the Breton-stype creperie where we had dinner (buckwheat crepes are delicious)!
Walking around after dinner: got a nice view of the Pont Neuf.
Walking around after dinner: got a nice (fuzzy) view of the Pont Neuf.
More fuzzy night photos: Notre Dame, of course!
More fuzzy night photos: Notre Dame, of course!

Stay tuned for days 2 and 3!

 

2 thoughts on “Rendezvous à Paris (day 1)

Leave a Reply

