Recipe: Olga’s Easter cake

Breakfast serving suggestion: warm out of the oven, with a few big dollops of plain yogurt.
Breakfast serving suggestion: warm out of the oven, with a few big dollops of plain yogurt.

I acquired some green apples (from the refreshments table at the conference I went to last Monday), it’s Easter, and those two reasons are the only excuse I need to make this awesomely simple cake. The recipe is from one of my mom’s former students from Kiev, and is apparently traditional for Easter.

My green apples were big and my pan was small, so I only actually used about 1.5 apples.
My green apples were big and my pan was small, so I only actually used about 1.5 apples.
Four-ingredient batter, mixed and ready to go.
Four-ingredient batter, mixed and ready to go.
You just want a thin spread of batter across the baked apples, like this.
You just want a thin spread of batter across the baked apples, like this.

Making it here in the UK, I halved the recipe, used 2 medium eggs instead of 1.5 large eggs, and baked it in an 8″ x 10″ pan, because that’s what I had handy. The recipe below is the original version, which makes a 9″ x 13″ cake.

Fresh out of the oven!
Fresh out of the oven!

Ukrainian Easter Cake

Yield: 1 9″ x 13″ cake.

Adapted (very lightly) from Olga Kornyushyna.

4 green apples
Cinnamon (~ 1/2 tsp)
1 c granulated sugar + a bit more for apples
3 (large) eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 c flour (I used whole spelt flour)

Generously butter a cake pan. Slice apples thinly and arrange on the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle a little sugar on top (I like to add cinnamon as well). Preheat oven to 425 F/220 C, then bake the apples for 5-10 minutes.

Beat eggs with sugar and vanilla. Mix in flour. Spread over the apples (should be a relatively thin coating). Sprinkle with cinnamon. Bake 20 min at 400 F/205 C, or until a tester inserted into the middle of the cake comes out with no raw batter.

You can substitute pears and ginger for apples and cinnamon. If the pears are soft, don’t bother with the first baking. I haven’t tried any other combinations, but I could imagine plums and cinnamon being a good combo as well.

Serving suggestion: with yogurt at breakfast or vanilla ice cream after dinner!

Hope my housemates like it. :)
Hope my housemates like it. 🙂
One thought on “Recipe: Olga’s Easter cake

Leave a Reply

