Eclipse and equinox

Happy spring, everyone! I’m quite busy at the moment, preparing a talk for the IOP Magnetism 2015 conference in Leeds next week, so I haven’t done much in the way of exciting photo-taking or excursions, but there are a few bits of news/updates:

  • I was actually in a decent part of the world to view a solar eclipse while it was happening! Unfortunately, Cambridge decided to be extremely overcast that morning, so we were pretty much reduced to telling ourselves, “I think the clouds are maybe a bit darker than normal?” Still, it’s cool that it happened, I suppose.
  • The 2015 Dartmouth Classics Foreign Study Program to Greece (and London and Istanbul) is underway. I went in 2013 and it was a spectacular and life-changing experience. Prof. Christesen (also known as PCC), who led most of my FSP and who is leading part of this one came up to Cambridge for a day with the TA, Cara (who was on my FSP) and some of the students, so I got to have dinner with him and Cara and a long chat with Cara afterwards. It was really nice! I encourage you to check out the daily blog from my year here, and/or the blog from this year. It’s been fun seeing the new students experiencing the same awesome works in the British Museum (and the same nearly-sleepless nights of homework…), and the pictures from Greece should be spectacular.
  • I just finished listening to the first season of Invisibilia, an awesome and thought-provoking NPR show/podcast that “explores the intangible forces that shape human behavior – things like ideas, beliefs, assumptions and emotions.” It’s quite a lot like Radiolab, which I also love, so if you’re into that sort of thing, I encourage you to check it out if you haven’t already.

Well, that’s about it from my end of things. I’m enjoying the flowers and birdsong even more now that it’s officially seasonal, and am looking forward to visiting Leeds next week!

Purple flowers are from in front of the Institute of Astronomy, where they bloom in abundance. The white flowers are from trees that a lot of people in the neighborhood have in their yards (I broke them from a fallen branch). They smell even better than they look!
Purple flowers are from in front of the Institute of Astronomy, where they bloom in abundance. The white flowers are from trees that a lot of people in the neighborhood have (I broke these from a fallen branch). They smell even better than they look!
Leave a Reply

