Recipe: Chili-spiced bean salad

Packing a half-recipe for today's lunch.
Packing a half-recipe for today’s lunch.

It’s quick, it’s nutritious, and it used up leftover ingredients  from my rainbow soup! I’ve taken this salad to work for lunch twice this week, so I thought I’d write down the recipe (mostly for my own future reference. I used black-eyed peas, but I think it would work equally well with black beans, chickpeas, kidney beans, maybe even pinto beans or brown lentils.

The kale is hiding, but there. I didn't add feta to this one because there wasn't enough room!
The kale is hiding, but there. I didn’t add feta to this one because there wasn’t enough room!

Chili-Spiced Bean Salad

Yield: 2 servings.

2 green onions, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, chopped
2 tomatoes, cut into sixths or eighths
1 15-oz can beans, drained and rinsed
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cumin
Juice of 1 lemon, divided
Chopped kale
~1/2 c crumbled or chopped feta (optional)
Salt and pepper to taste

Combine green onions, bell pepper, tomatoes, and beans in a bowl. Sprinkle with chili powder, cumin, and half the lemon juice. Stir to coat everything in spices.

In the serving/storing dish (i.e. your lunch container(s), or 1-2 plates or bowls), put as much chopped kale as you want. Top with the mixed beans and vegetables. Optionally, sprinkle with feta, then squeeze remaining lemon juice over the top. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Serving suggestion: At room temperature, or even warm on a cold day. I’ve just had this with a piece of fruit for lunch, but I suspect it would go well with eggs, toast and/or cornbread.

One thought on “Recipe: Chili-spiced bean salad

Leave a Reply

