Eye of the storm

So titled because the week before this last one was really busy and the upcoming week will be even busier, but last week felt like a bit of a breather (until I found out that I have to do a set of measurements that took me 2 weeks the last time around in the next 4 days…). And yet, at 9:18 pm on Sunday night, I can’t muster the energy to write a proper blog post, so I’ll let my pictures do the talking. Warning: you may experience a Christmas overdose.

You can't tell very well from this photo, but Trinity Hall has much more of a "nice old College" architectural style than Churchill...
You can’t tell very well from this photo, but Trinity Hall has much more of a “nice old College” architectural style than Churchill…
Festive place settings for my research group's Christmas dinner at Trinity Hall on Monday night.
Festive place settings for my research group’s Christmas dinner at Trinity Hall on Monday night.
They very kindly heated up a gluten-free mince pie just for me! (And before that they made me my own little creme brulee that I could have instead of the creme brulee tart most other people got.) Pretty impressed.
They very kindly heated up a gluten-free mince pie just for me! (And before that they made me my own little creme brulee that I could have instead of the creme brulee tart most other people got.) Pretty impressed.
Bow side blisters from winter outings! The undergrads have pretty much all gone home, so our crews have been mixed MCR members for the most part.
Bow side blisters from winter outings! The undergrads have pretty much all gone home, so our crews have been mixed MCR members for the most part.
Holiday-decorated bar for the MCR Christmas party on Wednesday night.
Holiday-decorated bar for the MCR Christmas party on Wednesday night.
Amanda decorates a gingerbread tree before a  game of Cards Against Humanity (that's a traditional Christmas game, right?).
Amanda decorates a gingerbread tree before a game of Cards Against Humanity (that’s a traditional Christmas game, right?).
I documented all the horrible Christmas sweaters/costumes in attendance.
I documented all the horrible Christmas sweaters/costumes in attendance.
I spent a lot of time during the second half of the week catching up on the theory behind my experiments, which led me to this textbook (Blundell's Magnetism in Condensed Matter), which has this ridiculous question about ducks and cows. I love physics.
I spent a lot of time during the second half of the week catching up on the theory behind my experiments, which led me to this textbook (Blundell’s Magnetism in Condensed Matter), which has this ridiculous question about ducks and cows. I love physics.
On Friday afternoon, we decorated a little Christmas tree in the Pen (1st and 2nd year grad student office) with lights, ornaments, and gingerbread cookies!
On Friday afternoon, we decorated a little Christmas tree in the Pen (1st and 2nd year grad student office) with lights, ornaments, and gingerbread cookies!
Isn't it adorable!
Isn’t it adorable.

I have a few more pictures I want to add of this weekend’s adventures (which consisted mostly of Christmas shopping, but I do have a funny story about getting locked in a bathroom stall for ~40 minutes…), but I can’t upload them until tomorrow, so I’ll sign off now. Four days of intense experiments, and then I’m going home!

UPDATE 15 Dec 2014: More pictures below!

Senate House Passage (between Trinity College and the Senate House) was full of tourists and shoppers on Saturday morning.
Senate House Passage (between Trinity College and the Senate House) was full of tourists and shoppers on Saturday morning.
I found out that both of the big bakery stalls sell 100% spelt bread! (At 3 GPB per loaf, though, I think I'll just buy a loaf tin and make my own...)
I found out that both of the big bakery stalls sell 100% spelt bread! (At 3 GPB per loaf, though, I think I’ll just buy a loaf tin and make my own…)
After drinking tea all morning and then going into town to do Christmas shopping for several hours, I really needed to pee, so I asked the nice gentleman behind the desk at a bookshop where I could find a toilet. He directed me to the restaurant next door, which I slipped into with no problem and everything worked out...until I tried to turn the handle on this bathroom stall and it wouldn't open. I tried opening it normally, prying it open with  the pens and bobby pins in my bag, unscrewing the mechanism (unfortunately, one of the screwdrivers on my multitool was too big and the other was too small), and climbing over the top of the stall (but the gap was too small for even my head to fit through, and the bottom gap was even smaller). Eventually I asked somebody to get a manager, and they finally passed me a screwdriver so I could take the latch off. Annoying, but there are much worse bathrooms I could have been stuck in for 40 minutes...
After drinking tea all morning and then going into town to do Christmas shopping for several hours, I really needed to pee, so I asked the nice gentleman behind the desk at a bookshop where I could find a toilet. He directed me to the restaurant next door, which I slipped into with no problem and everything worked out…until I tried to turn the handle on this bathroom stall and it wouldn’t open. I tried opening it normally, prying it open with the pens and bobby pins in my bag, unscrewing the mechanism (unfortunately, one of the screwdrivers on my multitool was too big and the other was too small), and climbing over the top of the stall (but the gap was too small for even my head to fit through, and the bottom gap was even smaller). Eventually I asked somebody to get a manager, and they finally passed me a screwdriver so I could take the latch off. Annoying, but there are much worse bathrooms I could have been stuck in for 40 minutes…
King's College Chapel at night. Not pictured: carolers outside.
King’s College Chapel at night. Not pictured: carolers outside. 🙂

Okay, that’s really all. I’m updating this while waiting for the last of my colleague’s experiments to finish running so that then I can use the electromagnet again…

Leave a Reply

