Recipe: Sour cream muffins

Most of the ingredients (though the chopped chocolate is trying to hide...).
Most of the ingredients (though the chopped chocolate and sour cream are trying to hide…).

I really wasn’t planning on making these (I feel like I’ve been saying that a lot recently…), but I bought a tub of sour cream to garnish the chili last weekend and about 3 tablespoons got used, so I’ve been trying to think what to do with it. I’m not a huge fan of really creamy dinner dishes, particularly not multiple days in a row, so using it in my weekly big-cook was out. Eventually, Googling “baking with sour cream” led me to cakes, and from there I decided on easily-shareable muffins.

Ready to bake: cinnamon-maple on the left, chocolate chunk on the right.
Ready to bake: cinnamon-maple on the left, chocolate chunk on the right.

Also left over from our house dinner was about a third of a bar of baking chocolate; not enough to go around for a full batch of muffins. For the remainder, I added a bit of maple syrup, a bit of oats to compensate for the extra liquid, a bit of cinnamon in the batter, and topped them with demerara sugar and cinnamon for a crispy coating.

Done!
Done!

I did my best to trust the recipe this time, instead of adding way too much extra flour and coming out with dense, dry muffins. How did I do? The texture is much better, hooray! They’re also not terribly sweet, which coupled with the lack of frosting puts them squarely in the “muffin” rather than “cupcake” camp, in my book at least. Frankly, I found the chocolate chip ones kind of boring. That’s probably because I’m used to baking with whole spelt flour and brown sugar and all those wonderful sorts of things, and white GF flour and granulated sugar just aren’t the same. Also, I have a cold, so everything that isn’t really strongly flavored tastes kind of “meh” right now. The spiced maple ones were a bit better (I didn’t write down instructions for those because I didn’t measure anything, and I don’t think it would really have been worth it), but the maple didn’t really come through. The demerara sugar didn’t really crisp up; in fact, I noticed that the spiced muffins were more prone to getting a bit soggy on days 2 and 3 than the chocolate chunk ones. My housemates seemed to like both, though, and I think that adding sour cream to muffins seems like a generally good idea for the future. 🙂

How to decide which kind to eat? (Don't! Just have half and half.)
How to decide which kind to eat? (Don’t! Just have half and half.)

Sour Cream Muffins

Adapted from Taste of Home.

Yield: 12 muffins.

1.5 c all-purpose flour (GF blend in my case)
2/3 c sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
Dash of salt
1 egg
1 c sour cream
2 Tbsp butter, melted
2 Tbsp plain yogurt
1 tsp vanilla
1 c chocolate chips

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, combine the egg, sour cream, butter, yogurt, and vanilla. Stir into dry ingredients until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Fill greased or paper-lined muffin tins 3/4 full. Bake at 350 degrees F/175 degrees C for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing to a rack.

Serving suggestion: slightly warm or at room temperature, plain or with butter or creme fraiche and/or jam would probably be good. I like the spice ones with peanut butter and the chocolate chunk ones with cottage cheese.

One thought on “Recipe: Sour cream muffins

Leave a Reply

