Bikes and London, in pictures (mostly)

SAMSUNG
More punts along the Cam, with the Magdalene St. Bridge (or whatever it’s called) in the background.

I did a whole lot of things since my last post, and talking about all of them would take far too long and use up a lot of material that I can talk about later (e.g., I went to a Formal Hall, but it was a slightly atypical one, and I will definitely go to at least one more in the future, so I’ll write about it then). Here are some of the highlights, in photos:

Thursday:

Jesus Green, one of the large open spaces between the Cam and  eastern part of the city center. This is a pretty standard park with a lot of open space, trees, and some tennis courts.
Jesus Green, one of the large open spaces between the Cam and eastern part of the city center. This is a pretty standard park with a lot of open space, trees, and some tennis courts.
Contrast: Midsummer Common, directly east of Jesus Green. The grass is a bit more wild, and those brown things in the middle of the field are cows.
Contrast: Midsummer Common, directly east of Jesus Green. The grass is a bit more wild, and those brown things in the middle of the field are cows.

Friday:

I noticed that Churchill College has some really nice flowers.
I noticed that Churchill College has some really nice flowers growing by the undergraduate dorms (or “staircases,” as they’re apparently known).
I finally got around to taking a halfway decent picture of King's College's famous chapel, but I still didn't go in. I was eating lunch outside of it on my way to look at used bikes.
I finally got around to taking a halfway decent picture of King’s College’s famous chapel, but I still didn’t go in. I was eating lunch outside of it on my way to look at used bikes.
The Mathematical Bridge, which connects two parts of Queen's College.
The Mathematical Bridge, which connects two parts of Queen’s College.
At my last dinner at home, we tried grilling some okra from the farmer's market (it was weird). There were numerous mentions of, "At least you won't have okra in the UK!" Well...
At my last dinner at home, we tried grilling some okra from the farmer’s market (it was weird). There were numerous mentions of, “At least you won’t have okra in the UK!” Well…
Another awesome feature of the town market besides well-stocked farmstands and several book sellers: a tea merchant! (I resisted the temptation to get anything this time.)
Another awesome feature of the town market besides well-stocked farmstands and several book sellers: a tea merchant! (I resisted the temptation to get anything this time.)
Great St. Mary's Church, the heart of Cambridge. From the Statues and Ordinances of the University of Cambridge: "The Precincts of the University shall be the area within a boundary defined as extending three miles from Great St Mary's Church, measured in a straight line, and as including Madingley Hall and such other places about Cambridge as may from time to time be determined by Grace, or by such authority as may be provided by Grace, whether generally or with respect to particular persons or classes of persons."
Great St. Mary’s Church, the heart of Cambridge. From the Statues and Ordinances of the University of Cambridge: “The Precincts of the University shall be the area within a boundary defined as extending three miles from Great St Mary’s Church, measured in a straight line, and as including Madingley Hall and such other places about Cambridge as may from time to time be determined by Grace, or by such authority as may be provided by Grace, whether generally or with respect to particular persons or classes of persons.”

Saturday:

I got my bike! It's really heavy and probably won't   sell for much at the end of the year, but I think it should last reasonably well.
I got my bike! It’s really heavy and probably won’t sell for much at the end of the year, but I think it should last reasonably well.
Saturday's dinner (first time cooking in this kitchen): rice with lentils, curried vegetable stir-fry, a fig, a cup of tea, and somebody's PhD thesis to read.
Saturday’s dinner (first time cooking in this kitchen): rice with lentils, curried vegetable stir-fry, a fig, a cup of tea, and somebody’s PhD thesis to read.

Sunday:

When you get out of King's Cross train station, you see the much fancier-looking St. Pancras station.
When you get out of King’s Cross train station, you see the much fancier-looking St. Pancras station.
The front entrance of the British Museum.
The front entrance of the British Museum.
This is for everyone who went on the 2013 spring classics FSP with me. It's a Panathenaic prize amphora with a chariot racing around a turning post.
This is for everyone who went on the 2013 spring classics FSP with me. It’s a Panathenaic prize amphora with a chariot racing around a turning post.
The Lycurgus Cup is a 4th century CE Roman glass goblet with gold nanoparticles suspended in the glass, causing the glass to appear green when lit from the front and red when lit from the back. It was on loan the last time I was at the BM, so I was happy to see it this time.
The Lycurgus Cup is a 4th century CE Roman glass goblet with gold nanoparticles suspended in the glass, causing the glass to appear green when lit from the front and red when lit from the back. It was on loan the last time I was at the BM, so I was happy to see it this time.
One of the lovely Sloane astrolabes (I like the other one better, but the photo wasn't as good).
One of the lovely Sloane astrolabes (I like the other one better, but the photo wasn’t as good).
Blurry selfie with Nina in front of some Parthenon pedimental sculpture (Aphrodite and Dione).
Blurry selfie with Nina in front of some Parthenon pedimental sculpture (Aphrodite and Dione).
"221B" Baker Street (more like 241, actually), with ticket-taker dressed as Victorian-era policeman.
“221B” Baker Street (more like 241, actually), with ticket-taker dressed as Victorian-era policeman.
The gift shop of the Sherlock Holmes Museum (Mrs. Hudson's, naturally).
The gift shop of the Sherlock Holmes Museum (Mrs. Hudson’s, naturally).
One of my favorite displays: Holmes' scientific equipment (and violin).
One of my favorite displays: Holmes’ scientific equipment (and violin).
This chair was actually used as a model in one of the original illustrations of the stories (shown above the chair).
This chair was actually used as a model in one of the original illustrations of the stories (shown above the chair).
"Holmes'" bedroom, with book on bees open at bedside.
“Holmes'” bedroom, with book on bees open at bedside.
Some of the nice rose beds in Queen Mary's Garden at Regent's Park.
Some of the nice rose beds in Queen Mary’s Garden at Regent’s Park.
I remember that this variety was one of my mom's favorites when I was a kid. Definitely one of the prettiest roses there.
I remember that this variety was one of my mom’s favorites when I was a kid. Definitely one of the prettiest roses there.

And…then I did nothing photogenic (besides, it was getting dark), got back on the train, had a somewhat terrifying bike ride back to Churchill, and will probably now collapse into bed.

Leave a Reply

