Recipe: Banana buckwheat pancakes (for one banana)

SAMSUNG

My first recipe post on this blog was an extremely similar recipe to this one, and it ended with a long list of “Things to try next time.” These included adding oats (which I did), more buckwheat (which I did proportionally) and nuts (nope). They didn’t include the two biggest problems I have run into while following that recipe. First of all, I used up the last of my Costco-supplied GF flour blend in that first batch, and haven’t quite been able to get the right texture back until this batch. Second, I don’t always have two bananas that desperately need to be used up; usually it’s just one, so I try to halve the recipe in my head, and usually end up accidentally putting the full amounts of the flours in the bowl before I realize my mistake and haphazardly scoop out about half. (I did that this time, in fact, but before I stirred them around, so I think these measurements are pretty accurate.) Of course, if you do have two overripe bananas, you can always double the recipe.

SAMSUNG

Besides, the original recipe made far too many pancakes for me and my mom (my dad gets up at 5 am most days, so I’ve given up surprising him with pancakes), whereas this version was tastier and left only one extra pancake (once my dad had taken one to nibble). I’ll go back and edit the amounts to be more precise when I make these again.

SAMSUNG

Banana Buckwheat Pancakes (version 2)

Adapted from my original recipe here.

Yield: 8 4-inch pancakes; feeds 2 hungry people or 3-4 as part of a larger breakfast.

1/4 c whole grain spelt flour
3 Tbsp buckwheat flour
3 Tbsp oats
1 t baking soda
1/2 t baking powder
1T flaxseed meal

1 very ripe banana
1 egg
1/2 t vanilla
1/4 t cinnamon
1/8 t nutmeg
scant 1/2 c. plain yogurt

Mix dry ingredients through flaxseed meal in a small bowl. Mash bananas in a larger bowl, then whisk in egg, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. When the wet mixture has reached a smooth consistency, add yogurt and stir well. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until combined.

Put griddle greased with butter on medium heat. Use a 1/4 cup measure to dollop onto griddle. Flip when sides appear cooked and a few bubbles have appeared on the top side of the pancakes.

Serving suggestions: top with Greek yogurt, maple syrup, fresh berries, sliced peaches

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Banana buckwheat pancakes (for one banana)

Leave a Reply

