Recipe: Banana Buckwheat Pancakes (wheat-free)

I guess this is my first foray into the crowded world of food blogging. More importantly for me, putting my recipes online hopefully means that I won’t lose them in future computer purges. I don’t really expect anyone else to read this.

This recipe is a healthier reworking of an experimental recipe that Catherine D. and I made up on our last morning on Andros last spring (the 2.5-day mini-vacation about 2/3 of the way through the classics foreign study program to Greece). We had lots of overripe bananas, vanilla, sugar, cornmeal, egg whites, milk, and some spices, and whipped up something approximating banana pancakes. Fortunately for our tastebuds, they didn’t hold together as well as pancakes should, so they ended up basically being fritters. Delicious, but not really something to make a habit of eating.

These, on the other hand, are not half bad for you and taste pretty darn good. The texture is just what I like in a pancake: providing some initial resistance to the fork, but ultimately yielding easily, not too crumbly. They were great topped with Greek yogurt and maple syrup.

SAMSUNG

These are a bit overdone, but still delicious.

I didn’t come up with this recipe from scratch, of course (still figuring out the ways of wheat-free cooking and baking). My basis recipes were this one from the awesome Bojon Gourmet and this one from Green Lite Bites. While not all GF or wheat-free, these sites have lots of recipes that are either explicitly gluten-free or can easily be adapted to be gluten/wheat-free.

See here for an explanation of my cooking philosophy. The bottom line is: experiment away!

Banana Buckwheat Pancakes

2 very ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs
1 t vanilla
1/2 t cinnamon
1/4 t nutmeg
3/4 c. plain yogurt

1/4 cup spelt flour
1/4 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup all-purpose GF flour mix
2 t baking soda
1 t baking powder
2T flaxseed meal

Mix dry ingredients in a small bowl. Mash bananas in a larger bowl, then whisk in eggs, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. When the wet mixture has reached a smooth consistency, add yogurt and stir until combined. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until combined.

Put griddle greased with butter on medium heat (or slightly higher). Use a 1/4 cup measure to dollop onto griddle. Flip when ready. Makes about 12 pancakes.

Serving suggestions: top with plain yogurt, maple syrup, fresh berries.

Things to try next time: I really wanted to add oats for some extra texture, but they soak up a lot of liquid. I guess I’d try substituting in oats for the GF flour blend (I’m not the biggest fan of it) and adding 1/4 cup of milk, but that’s just a guess. I’d maybe increase the amount of buckwheat flour, because I love buckwheat. I’m pretty sure you could substitute spelt or wheat flour in for the buckwheat with no ill effects. Some chopped nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts or pistachios?) might be a nice addition as well.

One thought on “Recipe: Banana Buckwheat Pancakes (wheat-free)

Leave a Reply

