Update…

Wow! It’s been quite a while since I posted anything. Not for lack of ski training or video games or books to talk about, just because of this whole “work” think compounded with spending time with friends and family in real life while I still can. And by that I mean “while I’m still in Salt Lake City,” not anything sinister.

I haven’t been training nearly as much as I should, but I always say that. Hopefully I can pick it up in the next few weeks and keep up the momentum when I get back to Dartmouth. On the plus side, I have been catching up on reading and playing computer games and Dungeons and Dragons. I’m not sure if that’s actually a plus, but it’s what I can fit into twenty minutes before I go to work and after 10-minute abs. A few one-sentence views on stuff I’ll probably talk about more later (some of it, anyway):

  • George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings are truly excellent. I haven’t seen the HBO series, but I hear it’s really good as well (the books are almost always better).
  • The Longest Journey is an interesting adventure game with a wonderfully fantastic story, but the puzzles can get pretty contrived sometimes (spoiler: you use a clothesline, a deflating rubber ducky/inner tube and a large metal clamp to pull a metal key off of an electrified subway track. Kind of strange).
  • Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is pretty awesome all the way through the end.
  • Dragon Age: Origins is also pretty awesome (haven’t gotten anywhere close to finishing, though), but the difficulty is all over the place from ludicrously easy to surprisingly difficult. It’s surprising mostly because the really difficult fights so far have been with apparently low-level quest people.
  • The Killing Joke is a pretty cool Batman story, and also really screwed up and possibly nightmare-inducing.
  • Batman: The Animated Series is as good as I remember from back when I was five. I watched a few episodes after the Nostalgia Critic did a top 11 episodes video for it, and it’s got some pretty good animation and stories.
  • In non-Batman related news, there’s a Dungeons & Dragons arcade game. Two of them, actually. I played the second one with some friends because that’s what one of them wanted to do for his birthday, and it was totally awesome.
  • Also Dungeons & Dragons (4th edition) related: enemy attacks that take away a healing surge every time you get hit really suck, especially when you can’t take extended rests (which allows you to regain healing surges). As a result, I ended the last D&D session in hostile territory (a city full of undead in the Shadowfell) with no healing surges left, no way to recover them, and one hit point. And we were somehow expected to defeat some liches afterward.
  • Blackadder is kind of funny, but it does get old after a while.

Damn, I really am a geek.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

